I received this reply fro…

I received this reply from Senator Kaine after sending a thank you note through HRC after the Senate passed ENDA. Even though this is likely an automated response, I still found it really cool that he not only fights for equal rights but also cares enough about his constituents to send a reply at all. đŸ™‚ #ENDA #TimKaine

Dear Mr. Miller:

Thank you for contacting me about the Employment Non-Discrimination Act (ENDA). I appreciate hearing from you.
On April 25, 2013 Senator Jeff Merkley introduced ENDA, legislation to prohibit employment discrimination on the basis of sexual orientation or gender identity. I am a cosponsor of this bipartisan bill, which addresses discrimination in the workplace by making it illegal to fire, refuse to hire, or refuse to promote employees based on a person’s sexual orientation or gender identity. On November 7, 2013 the Senate passed ENDA by a vote of 64-32. I applaud the bipartisan support for the bill in the Senate, and am encouraged by this effort to bring an end to discriminatory practices.
As a former civil rights lawyer, I am fully committed to the basic equality and common dignity of all people. As Governor, my first act was to sign an executive order banning discrimination against state employees for any reason, including sexual orientation. I will continue to support efforts that promote the equal rights and the dignity of all citizens.
Thank you again for contacting me.

Sincerely,

Tim Kaine

Selected content from Mail

Leave a Reply

